Bard College Catalogue

The Bard College Catalogue contains detailed descriptions of the College's undergraduate programs and courses, curriculum, admission and financial aid procedures, student activities and services, history, campus facilities, affiliated institutions including graduate programs, and faculty and administration.

*The download on this page requires Adobe Reader for viewing and printing.

Bard College Catalogue 2013-14

Bard College Catalogue 2013-14

Bard College Faculty Distinguished Prizes, Grants, and Fellowships

American Academy of Arts and Letters (member): John Ashbery (emeritus), Judy Pfaff, Francine Prose, Joan Tower

American Academy of Arts and Letters (recipient of award from): Leon Botstein (Distinguished Service to the Arts), Robert Kelly (Academy Award in Literature), Bradford Morrow (Academy Award in Literature), Lothar Osterburg (Academy Award in Art), Luc Sante (Academy Award in Literature), Mona Simpson (Academy Award in Literature), Julianne Swartz (Academy Award in Art), George Tsontakis (Academy Award in Music, Charles Ives Scholarship, Charles Ives Living Award)

American Academy of Arts and Sciences (member): John Ashbery (emeritus), Leon Botstein, Bill T. Jones, Daniel Mendelsohn, Judy Pfaff, Luc Sante, Joan Tower 

American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship/Grant: Robert J. Culp, Michael Donnelly, Elizabeth Frank, Jean M. French (emeritus), Christopher Gibbs, Helena Sedlácková Gibbs, Cecile E. Kuznitz, Jacob Neusner, Alice Stroup

American Philosophical Society (member): Leon Botstein

Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Award: Leon Botstein

Danforth Fellowship: Bradford Morrow

Fulbright Fellowship/Scholar: Laura Battle, Michiel Bot, Diana H. DePardo-Minsky, Tabetha Ewing, John C. Fout (emeritus), Mark Lytle, Norman Manea, Amir Moosavi, Jacob Neusner, Francine Prose, Frank M. Scalzo, James Sullivan (emeritus), George Tsontakis

Grammy Award: Luc Sante, Joan Tower, Dawn Upshaw

Grawemeyer Award: Joan Tower, George Tsontakis

Guggenheim Fellowship: Peggy Ahwesh, JoAnne Akalaitis (emeritus), Lois Conner, Alan Cote (emeritus), Richard H. Davis (two), Ellen Driscoll, Larry Fink, Kenji Fujita, Peter Hutton, Verlyn Klinkenborg, Ann Lauterbach, An-My Lê, Medrie MacPhee, Norman Manea, Daniel Mendelsohn, Bradford Morrow, Ann Nelson, Jacob Neusner, Lothar Osterburg (two), Gilles Peress, Judy Pfaff, Matt Phillips (emeritus), Francine Prose, Kelly Reichardt, James Romm, Lisa Sanditz, Luc Sante, Joseph Santore, Stephen Shore, Mona Simpson, James Sullivan (emeritus), Karen Sullivan, Richard Teitelbaum, Joan Tower, George Tsontakis

Kennedy Center Honors: Bill T. Jones

Lannan Literary Fellowship: Joan Retallack

Lannan Residency Fellowship: Mary Caponegro, Bradford Morrow

MacArthur Fellowship: John Ashbery ­(emeritus), Mark Danner, Bill T. Jones, Ann Lauterbach, An-My Lê, Norman Manea, Judy Pfaff, Dawn Upshaw

Marshall Scholarships: Gregory Landweber

National Book Award: William Weaver (emeritus)

National Book Critics Circle Award: Wyatt Mason, Daniel Mendelsohn

National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters: John Ashbery (emeritus) 

National Endowment for the Arts Grant: JoAnne Akalaitas (emeritus), Thurman Barker, Laura Battle, Ken Buhler, Lois Conner, Alan Cote (emeritus), Ellen Driscoll, Barbara Ess, Larry Fink, Kenji Fujita, Kyle Gann, Peter Hutton, John Kelly, Robert Kelly, Verlyn Klinkenborg, Aileen Passloff (emeritus), Gilles Peress (three), Judy Pfaff (two), Matt Phillips (emeritus), Joan Retallack, Jonathan Rosenberg, Joseph Santore, Stephen Shore (two), Maria Q. Simpson, Mona Simpson, Patricia Spencer, Richard Teitelbaum, Naomi Thornton, Hap Tivey, Joan Tower, George Tsontakis, Robert Woodruff

National Endowment for the Humanities Grant: Susan Aberth, Robert J. Culp, Laurie Dahlberg, Deirdre d’Albertis, Richard H. Davis, Carolyn Dewald, Michèle D. Dominy, Elizabeth Frank, Jean M. French (emeritus), Garry L. Hagberg, Elizabeth M. Holt, Mark Lytle, Jacob Neusner, James Romm, Julia Rosenbaum, Alice Stroup, Suzanne Vromen (emeritus)

National Science Foundation Grant: Craig Anderson, Sven Anderson, James M. Belk, Ethan D. Bloch, Michèle D. Dominy, Yuval Elmelech, John B. Ferguson (emeritus), Mark D. Halsey, Samuel K. Hsiao, Philip Johns, Felicia Keesing, Gregory Landweber, Keith O’Hara, Susan Fox Rogers, Lauren Rose, Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins, Alice Stroup, S. Rebecca Thomas, Michael Tibbetts, Hap Tivey

New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year: Joseph O’Neill, Netherland (2008)

New York Times Notable Book of the Year: Teju Cole, Open City; Mark Danner, The Massacre at El Mozote: A Parable of the Cold War; Helen Epstein, The Invisible Cure: Africa, the West, and the Fight Against AIDS; Daniel Mendelsohn, Desire and the Riddle of Identity; Joseph O’Neill, Blood–Dark Track; Francine Prose, The Lives of the Muses: Nine Women and the Artists They Inspired

Obie Award: Anne Gridley, Bill T. Jones, John Kelly, Geoffrey Sobelle, Nilaja Sun

Ordre des Artes et des Lettres: Bill T. Jones, Norman Manea

PEN Awards: PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction,  Joseph O’Neill; Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award for Distinguished First Book of Fiction, Teju Cole; PEN Literary Award, Bradford Morrow and William Weaver (emeritus; two)

Pollock-Krasner Grant: Ken Buhler, Kenji Fujita, Maximilian Goldfarb, Kakyoung Lee, Gilles Peress, Matt Phillips (emeritus)

Prix Médicis Étranger: Norman Manea, Daniel Mendelsohn

Pulitzer Prize: Elizabeth Frank, Louise Bogan: A Portrait (1985)

Radcliffe Institute Fellowship: Chiori Miyagawa

Rhodes Scholarship: Maria Sachiko Cecire

Rome Prize: Mary Caponegro, Tim Davis, Diana H. DePardo-Minsky, John Kelly, Stephen Shore

Royal Society of Literature Fellow: Norman Manea

Tony Award: Bill T. Jones

Wenner-Gren Grant: Michèle D. Dominy, Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins, Yuka Suzuki

Edith Wharton Achievement Award for Literature: Francine Prose