Bard College Catalogue

The Bard College Catalogue contains detailed descriptions of the College's undergraduate programs and courses, curriculum, admission and financial aid procedures, student activities and services, history, campus facilities, affiliated institutions including graduate programs, and faculty and administration.

Bard College Catalogue 2016-17


Bard College Catalogue 2016-17

Academic Calendar

Summer 2016

August 6, Saturday
Arrival date, financial clearance, and orientation for first-year students

August 8, Monday — August 24, Wednesday
Language and Thinking Program for first-year students

 

Fall Semester, 2016

August 24, Wednesday
Arrival date and financial clearance for transfer students

August 24, Wednesday – August 25, Thursday
Orientation for transfer students

August 25, Thursday – August 26, Friday
Advising and registration for new students

August 27, Saturday
Arrival date and financial clearance for all returning students

August 29, Monday
First day of classes

September 7, Wednesday
Drop/add period ends 

October 10, Monday – October 11, Tuesday
Fall break

October 21, Friday
Moderation papers due

October 28, Friday – October 30, Sunday
Family Weekend
 
November 18, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a course
 
November 24, Thursday – November 27, Sunday
Thanksgiving recess

December 5, Monday
Senior Projects due for students finishing in December

December 7, Wednesday
Advising day
 
December 8, Thursday
Course registration opens for spring 2017 semester
 
December 12, Monday – December 16, Friday
Completion days

December 16, Friday
Last day of classes


Intersession

December 17, 2016, Saturday — January 27, 2017, Friday
Winter intersession (no classes for sophomores, juniors, seniors)

January 7, Saturday
First-year students return for Citizen Science Program

January 8, Sunday – January 5, Wednesday
Citizen Science Program
 

Spring Semester, 2017

January 25, Wednesday
Arrival date and financial clearance for new first-year and transfer students

January 26, Thursday – January 27, Friday
Academic orientation, advising, and registration for new first-year and transfer students

January 28, Saturday
Arrival date and financial clearance for all returning students

January 30, Monday
First day of classes 

February 15, Wednesday
Drop/add period ends 

March 17, Friday
Moderation papers due 

March 18, Saturday – March 26, Sunday
Spring recess

May 1, Monday – May 2, Tuesday
Advising days

May 2, Tuesday
Last day to withdraw from a course

May 3, Wednesday
Senior Projects due for students graduating in May 

May 11, Thursday
Course registration opens for fall 2017 semester

May 17, Wednesday – May 23, Tuesday
Completion days

May 23, Tuesday
Last day of classes

May 25, Thursday
Baccalaureate service and Senior Dinner 

May 27, Saturday
Commencement