Bard College Catalogue

The Bard College Catalogue contains detailed descriptions of the College's undergraduate programs and courses, curriculum, admission and financial aid procedures, student activities and services, history, campus facilities, affiliated institutions including graduate programs, and faculty and administration.

Bard College Catalogue 2017-18

Bard College Catalogue 2017-18

Bard College Faculty Distinguished Prizes, Grants, and Fellowships

American Academy of Arts and Letters (member): Judy Pfaff, Francine Prose, Joan Tower

American Academy of Arts and Letters (recipient of award from): Leon Botstein (Distinguished Service to the Arts),  Ellen Driscoll (Academy Award in Art), Robert Kelly (Academy Award in Literature), Daniel Mendelsohn (Academy Award in Literature), Bradford Morrow (Academy Award in Literature), Lothar Osterburg (Academy Award in Art), Luc Sante (Academy Award in Literature), Mona Simpson (Academy Award in Literature), Julianne Swartz (Academy Award in Art), George Tsontakis (Academy Award in Music, Charles Ives Scholarship, Charles Ives Living Award)

American Academy of Arts and Sciences (member): Leon Botstein, Daniel Mendelsohn, Judy Pfaff, Luc Sante, Joan Tower

American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship/Grant: Robert J. Culp, Elizabeth Frank, Jean M. French (emeritus), Christopher H. Gibbs, Helena Sedlácková Gibbs, Cecile E. Kuznitz, Jacob Neusner (emeritus), Alice Stroup

American Philosophical Society (member): Leon Botstein

Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Award: Leon Botstein;Andrew Carnegie Fellow, Mark Danner

Danforth Fellowship: Bradford Morrow

French Legion of Honor: Justus Rosenberg

Fulbright Fellowship/Scholar: Laura Battle, Diana H. DePardo-Minsky, Tabetha Ewing, Mark Lytle (emeritus), Norman Manea (emeritus), Francine Prose, Frank M. Scalzo, James Sullivan (emeritus), George Tsontakis 

Grammy Award: Luc Sante, Joan Tower, Dawn Upshaw

Grawemeyer Award: Joan Tower, George Tsontakis

Guggenheim Fellowship: Peggy Ahwesh, JoAnne Akalaitis (emeritus), Alan Cote (emeritus), Richard H. Davis (two), Ellen Driscoll, Larry Fink (emeritus), Kenji Fujita, Rivka Galchen, Verlyn Klinkenborg, Ann Lauterbach, An-My Lê, Medrie MacPhee, Norman Manea (emeritus), Daniel Mendelsohn, Bradford Morrow, Lothar Osterburg (two), Gilles Peress, Judy Pfaff, Francine Prose, Kelly Reichardt, James Romm, Lisa Sanditz, Luc Sante, Joseph Santore, Stephen Shore, Mona Simpson, James Sullivan (emeritus), Karen Sullivan, Richard Teitelbaum, Joan Tower, George Tsontaki

Hugo Award: Neil Gaiman

International Sculpture Center Lifetime Achievement Award: Judy Pfaff

Lannan Fellowships: Mary Caponegro, Dinaw Mengestu, Bradford Morrow, Joan Retallack (emeritus)

MacArthur Fellowship: Mark Danner, Jeremy Denk (Bard College Conservatory of Music), Ann Lauterbach, An-My Lê, Norman Manea (emeritus), Dinaw Mengestu, Judy Pfaff, Dawn Upshaw

National Book Critics Circle Award: Wyatt Mason, Daniel Mendelsohn

National Endowment for the Arts Grant: JoAnne Akalaitas (emeritus), Thurman Barker, Laura Battle, Ken Buhler, Alan Cote (emeritus), Ellen Driscoll, Barbara Ess, Larry Fink (emeritus), Kenji Fujita, Kyle Gann, Robert Kelly, Verlyn Klinkenborg, Aileen Passloff (emeritus), Gilles Peress (three), Judy Pfaff (two), Joan Retallack (emeritus), Jonathan Rosenberg, Joseph Santore, Stephen Shore (two), Maria Q. Simpson, Mona Simpson, Patricia Spencer, Richard Teitelbaum, Joan Tower, George Tsontakis

National Endowment for the Humanities Grant: Susan Aberth, Katherine M. Boivin, Robert J. Culp, Laurie Dahlberg, Deirdre d’Albertis, Richard H. Davis, Carolyn Dewald (emeritus), Michèle D. Dominy (two), Elizabeth Frank, Jean M. French (emeritus), Lianne Habinek, Garry L. Hagberg, Elizabeth M. Holt, Mark Lytle (emeritus), James Romm, Julia Rosenbaum, Alice Stroup, Suzanne Vromen (emeritus)

National Science Foundation Grant: Craig Anderson, Sven Anderson, James M. Belk, Ethan D. Bloch, Cathy Collins, Michèle D. Dominy, Yuval Elmelech, John B. Ferguson (emeritus), Mark D. Halsey, Felicia Keesing, Keith O‘Hara, Susan Fox Rogers, Lauren Rose, Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins, Alice Stroup, S. Rebecca Thomas, Michael Tibbetts

Newbury Meda: Neil Gaiman

New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year: Joseph O’Neill, Netherland (2008)

New York Times Notable Book of the Year: Teju Cole, Open City; Mark Danner, The Massacre at El Mozote: A Parable of the Cold War; Helen Epstein, The Invisible Cure: Africa, the West, and the Fight Against AIDS; Daniel Mendelsohn, Desire and the Riddle of Identity; Dinaw Mengestu, All Our Names, How to Read the Air, The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears; Joseph O’Neill, Blood–Dark Track, The Dog; Francine Prose, The Lives of the Muses, My New American Life, Nine Women and the Artists They Inspired, Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932; James Romm, Dying Every Day: Seneca at the Court of Nero

Obie Award: Justin Vivian Bond, Dael Orlandersmith

Ordre des Artes et des Lettres: Norman Manea (emeritus)

PEN Awards: Board of Trustees: Dinaw Mengestu; PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, Joseph O’Neill; Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award for Distinguished First Book of Fiction, Teju Cole; PEN Literary Award, Bradford Morrow; PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay, Ian Buruma

Pollock-Krasner Grant: Ken Buhler, Kenji Fujita, Gilles Peress

Prix Médicis Étranger: Norman Manea (emeritus), Daniel Mendelsohn

Pulitzer Prize: Elizabeth Frank, Louise Bogan: A Portrait (1985)

Radcliffe Institute Fellowship: Gidon Eshel, Chiori Miyagawa

Rhodes Scholarship: Maria Sachiko Cecire

Rome Prize: Mary Caponegro, Tim Davis, Diana H. DePardo-Minsky, Stephen Shore

Royal Society of Literature Fellow: Norman Manea (emeritus)

Wenner-Gren Grant: Michèle D. Dominy, Sophia Stamatopoulou-Robbins, Yuka Suzuki

Edith Wharton Achievement Award for Literature: Francine Prose