• Bard
  • Facebook
  • Give to CCE
  • Join Our Mailinglist
  • Tumblr 
  • Twitter

Who We Are

Who We Are

CCE staff foster collaborative partnerships around the globe in order to empower students to become active citizens. Dedicated to promoting ideals that link democracy to the liberal arts, we help students develop sustainable projects on pressing societal issues. Whether collaborating with international partners or working with student organizers locally, the center is committed to the public good. CCE Director, Dr. Jonathan Becker, believes that, "Engagement is necessary in the democratic process, especially in today’s global world. Developing a habit of active involvement in civic life starts now." 

Jonathan Becker
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Director, Center for Civic Engagement
jbecker@bard.edu | 845-758-7816  Expand for more.Expand
Erin Cannan
Vice President for Student Affairs
Dean of Civic Engagement/Deputy Director, Bard Center for Civic Engagement

cannan@bard.edu | 845-758-7453  Expand for more.Expand
Paul Marienthal

Dean for Social Action
Director of the Trustee Leader Scholar Program

marienth@bard.edu | 845-758-7056  Expand for more.Expand
Bonnie Goad
Associate Director
bgoad@bard.edu | 845-758-7371
Brian Mateo
Assistant Dean of Civic Engagement and Special Assistant for Admission and Early College Outreach
Administrative Director, U.S. Foreign Policy: Study of the U.S. Institutes for Scholars | SUSI​

bmateo@bard.edu | 845-758-7502  Expand for more.Expand
Cammie Jones
Assistant Dean of Civic Engagement
Administrative Director, SUSI Civic Engagement

cjones@bard.edu | 845-758-4794
Lisa Whalen
Executive Assistant to Jonathan Becker
lwhalen@bard.edu | 845-758-7816  Expand for more.Expand
Marina Donahue
Finance & Grants Manager
mdonahue@bard.edu | 845-758-7553
Dariel Vasquez
Coordinator for Brothers at Bard
BHSEC - Fellowship Initiative Program Manager

dvasquez@bard.edu
Aileen Hanel
Director, International Partnerships & Programs
Program Manager, Al-Quds Bard 

ahanel@bard.edu | 845-758-7322  Expand for more.Expand
Jen Murray
Director, Institute for International Liberal Education and Bard Abroad

jmurray@bard.edu | 845-758-7387
Bryan Billings
Director of Global Outreach
Bard Center for Civic Engagement &
Bard Globalization and International Affairs Program

bbilling@bard.edu | 845-758-7303  Expand for more.Expand
Sarah deVeer
Intern Volunteer Manager
Science Outreach Coordinator

sdeveer@bard.edu | (504) 729 7029
James Ketterer
Dean of International Studies;
Director, of the Bard Globalization and International Affairs Program

jkettere@bard.edu | 845-758-4538  Expand for more.Expand
Tatiana Orlova
Eurasian Program Assistant
torlova@bard.edu | 845-752-4857
Breanna Beaumont
Al-Quds Bard Program Assistant
bbeaumont@bard.edu | 845-752-4793
Siira Rieschl
Science Outreach Advisor
srieschl@bard.edu

Fellows

  • image
    Kate Flynn

    Dr. Kate Flynn has over twenty years in research, teaching, programme development and project delivery. Her expertise covers critical peacebuilding, democratization, ethnic conflict, migration, development, contested heritage, and public policy in divided and transitional societies. Current research focuses on evaluating the effectiveness and impacct of civil society programmes funded by foreign aid. She has worked at universities in South Africa, Ukraine, Israel and the UK, and led research projects covering Northern Ireland, South Africa, and Cyprus. She is also Research Fellow at the Archbishop Desmond Tutu Centre for War and Peace Studies, Liverpool Hope University, UK.

  • image
    David Woolner

    David B. Woolner is the Senior Fellow and Resident Historian of the Roosevelt Institute, Senior Fellow of the Center for Civic Engagement at Bard College, and is a member of the faculty of the Bard Prison Initiative. He is the author of The Last 100 Days: FDR at War and at Peace, forthcoming from Basic Books, and is editor/co-editor of five books, including Progressivism in America: Past Present and Future (Oxford, 2016), a work based on a conference the Roosevelt Institute organized in collaboration with the CCE and the Clinton Institute at University College Dublin. Woolner is one of the principle organizers of the CCE’s U.S. Summer Foreign Policy Institute; a six week intensive academic exchange program funded by the U.S. State Department involving scholars and educators from a host of countries around the world, and has organized a number of CCE events at the FDR Presidential Library and Museum in Hyde Park, New York. A frequent commentator on the link between the past and the present, his media appearances include interviews with CNN, the BBC, Al Jazeera, NPR, the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. Woolner has held fellowships at Churchill College, Cambridge; University College Roosevelt, in the Netherlands; and at University College Dublin. He earned his MA and PhD from McGill University, and his BA, summa cum laude, from the University of Minnesota.