• Bard
  • Facebook
  • Give to CCE
  • Join Our Mailinglist
  • Tumblr 
  • Twitter
Local History Internships    
Local History Internships    

Local History Internships

 

The Center for Civic Engagement's Community Action Awards grant application process has begun and these organizations are seeking  interns. The first step is to be in touch with the sponsoring historical organization.  This list of contacts includes organizations who have registered public history internships with Bard's Office of Career Development.  Information on how to use the CDO's Career Central database is included here with the list.    

Dutchess County Department of History   

Will Tatum, Director 845-486-2381
wtatum@dutchessny.gov2
2 Market Street, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601

Eleanor Roosevelt Center at Val-Kill and Girls Leadership Workshop

Kathleen Durham, Executive Director          
845-229-5302
kdurham@ERVK.org
P.O. Box 255, Hyde Park, NY 12538

The Eleanor Roosevelt Val-Kill Partnership

Uri Perrin, Executive Director                                                                        
845-229-9115, ext 2037
uri.perrin@gmail.com
4097 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Jeffrey Urbin, Education Specialist
845-486-7761
jeffrey.urbin@nara.gov
www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu
4079 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538

Friends of Clermont

Conrad Hanson, Executive Director and *Anne McGrath, Director  
518-537-6622
chanson@friendsofclermont.org
www.friendsofclermont.org
87 Clermont Avenue, Germantown, NY 12526 

Friends of Rhinebeck Cemetery

Beverly Kane
845-876-3894
neilbev81@hotmail.com
www.friendsofrhinebeckcemetery.org
P.O. Box 7, Rhinebeck, NY, 12572

Gomez Mill House

Dr. Ruth K. Abrahams, Executive Director and *Ritchie Rosencrans   
212-294-8329, 845-236-3126, 201-970-3835
gomez@cjh.org
www.gomez.org
11 Mill House Road, Marlboro, NY 12542

Hartford History Center at Hartford Public Library

Brenda Miller, Executive Director
860-695-6317
bmiller@hplct.org
http://hhc.hplct.org/
500 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103

Herbert Hoover Presidential Library-Museum

Melanie Wier, Assistant Curator
319-643-6008
melanie.wier@nara.gov
http://hoover.archives.gov
210 Parkside Drive, West Branch, IA 52358

Historic Huguenot Street

Kara Gaffken, Public Programs Coordinator                                     
845-255-1660, ext. 108
kara@huguenotstreet.org
www.huguenotstreet.org
18 Broadhead Avenue, New Paltz, NY 12561

Historic Red Hook ( Elmendorf)                                                                  

Claudine Klose, President and Board Members
845-758-8181
Claudineklose@gmail.com
www.redhookhistory.com
P.O. Box 397, Red Hook, NY 12571

Hudson River Maritime Museum

Sarah Wassberg, Education Director & Volunteer Coordinator        
845-338-0071, ext. 16
swassberg@hrmm.org
www.hrmm.org
50 Rondout Landing, Kingston, NY 12401

John Jay Heritage Center

Suzanne Clary, Board President and Executive Director                
914-698-9275
jayheritagecenter@gmail.com
www.jaycenter.org
210 Boston Post Road, Rye, NY 10580

Montgomery Place/ Historic Hudson Valley

Ray Armater, Executive Director                                                     
845-758-1036
ramater@hudsonvalley.org
www.hudsonvalley.org
P.O. Box 32, Annandale-on-Hudson, NY 12504

National Park Service/ Roosevelt-Vanderbilt National Historic Sites    

Scott Rector, Chief of Interpretation
845-229-9115 x 2025
scott_rector@nps.gov
historichydepark.org
Roosevelt-Vanderbilt National Historic Sites, 4097 Albany Post Road,
Hyde Park, NY 12538

New York State Museum

Robert Weible, State Historian, Chief Curator
518-473-1299
RWEIBLE@MAIL.NYSED.GOV
http://www.nysm.nysed.gov/
Cultural Education Center Room 3021, Albany, NY 12230

Rhinebeck Historical Society

Michael Frazier, Archivist, Board Member, Treasurer
h 845-876-7462, c 845-464-2015
michaelfrazier@earthlink.net
www.rhinebeckhistory.org
68 West Market Street, PO Box 291, Rhinebeck, NY 12572

Staatsburgh State Historic Site

Pam Malcolm, Historic Site Manager
845-889-8851
pam.malcolm@parks.ny.gov
www.nysparks.com
75 Mills Mansion Drive, Staatsburgh, NY 12580

Town of Germantown History Department/ Germantown Parsonage

Susan Raab, Acting Town Historian and Alvin Sheffer                     
518-965-0343
germantownhistory@gmail.com
www.germantownnyhistory.org
52 Maple Avenue, Germantown, NY 12526

West Point Museum

Paul Ackermann, Museum Specialist/Conservator
845-938-7338
paul.ackermann@us.army.mil
www.usma.edu
US Military Academy, West Point, NY 10996

Wilderstein Historic Site

Duane A. Watson, Curator of Collections                                         
845-876-5911
curator@wilderstein.org
www.wilderstein.org
PO Box 383, 330 Morton Road, Rhinebeck, NY 12572

STUDENTS: To view the public history internships with the above organizations, please go to Bard College’s online job board College Central. http://www.collegecentral.com/bard/ 

Click on the “Students” icon and enter your Bard 9 digit student id # in the username field, input your password and click “Submit”.  Access the “Find Jobs at My School” tab and input the code “PH” into the School ID Code tracking field.

Note: If you have not yet accessed the College Central system and/or do not recall your password you will want to sign in and input your Bard student id #, then click on the “Forgot password” option and create a new password. You will be asked to complete a few required fields and then begin your search.