Bard Career Development Office
Facebook Twitter

Upcoming CDO Events

The Office of Career Development sponsors a variety of workshops, programs, and events throughout the year.

April 2014


Thursday, April 24, 2014

Bard MAT at HOLA - Internship & Program Information Table

Time: 11:00 am – 2:00 pm
Location: Campus Center, Lobby

Join Stephen Mucher to learn more about the Bard MAT at HOLA program and its summer internships.

Summer Internships are available for the following programs:
- Civic Engagement
- Community Photography Project
- Theater, Arts, Sports Outreach
- Bard Writing
- HOLA Summer Science
- HOLA College Readiness
- Tutor/Mentor Program
- HOLA Farming, Food & Education

(all internship descriptions are posted on College Central - log in to view them!)

MAT Program Overview:
The year-long Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program is located on Heart of Los Angeles’ community campus, an ideal setting for graduate students to explore the knowledge and skill needed to be effective and caring teachers in urban schools. Bard MAT students spend one year in classes and residency at HOLA earning a master’s degree and California credential with focus areas in History, Literature, Mathematics or Biology. Stipends up to $30,000 are available for individuals who make a three year commitment to teaching in high-needs public schools.

Contact: Career Development Office 845-758-7539 cdo@bard.edu
Website: http://heartofla.org/2014/03/news/bard-college-begins-recruiting-teacher-certification-program

May 2014


Thursday, May 1, 2014

Class of 2015: What to Expect for the Fall 2014 Recruiting Season

Time: 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Location: Campus Center, Red Room 202

Class of 2015:

Fall is CDO's busiest recruiting season. Between September and early November, many recruiters visit campus, the annual Fall Recruiting Consortium (FRC) occurs in NYC, and application deadlines for many entry-level positions starting in May 2015 take place.

Join CDO for this informative session about what to expect next fall, and how you can start to prepare over the summer months.

When: Thursday, May 1, 5:30 p.m.
Where: Campus Center 202
Led by: CDO staff

Questions? Email cdo@bard.edu



Contact: Career Development Office 845-758-7539 cdo@bard.edu
Website: http://www.bard.edu/cdo

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Student Conservation Association (SCA) Information Session

Sponsored by the Career Development Office (CDO) and Environmental & Urban Studies Program

Time: 3:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Location: Campus Center, Lobby
Interested in Environmental Internships or Careers? Come and meet with the Hudson Valley Chapter of the Student Conservation Association (SCA)!

When: Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Where: Campus Center Locations (see below)
*Information Table in Campus Center Lobby, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
*Information Session in Campus Center Fishbowl: 5:30 - 6:30pm
Led by: Nick Marcet, Program Coordinator, Hudson Valley SCA

Nick will discuss ways to jump start an environmental career through participation in SCA programs. There are paid national internship opportunities as well as 8-10 month AmeriCorps programs in the Hudson Valley region for May 2014 seniors and recent graduates.

Learn about all of SCA's programs and opportunities and learn how you can get involved right here at Bard College!

For more information about SCA and the Hudson Valley chapter, please visit: http://www.thesca.org

Questions? Contact CDO, cdo@bard.edu
Contact: Career Development Office 845-758-7539 cdo@bard.edu
Website: http://www.thesca.org

Archive of Past CDO Events

Friday, April 11, 2014

Kickstarting Capitalism: Finding a Calling in a Clean Energy Future

<1>A Conversation with Hunter Lovins and Eban Goodstein
12:30 pm Bard College more >
Thursday, April 10, 2014

Public Service Career Day - Learn How to Navigate the Federal Job Application Process

1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Hyde Park, NY more >
Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Hachette Book Group Information Session - Learn About Publishing Internships & Entry Level Jobs

5:30 pm – 6:30 pm Olin, Room 203 more >
Thursday, April 3, 2014

Pomona College and Bard College Presidents Convene for Online Conversation on “The Future of Liberal Arts”

6:30 pm – 7:00 pm Online more >
Thursday, April 3, 2014 – Friday, April 4, 2014

Digital Marketing Site Visit: Learn About Careers in Digital Media from the Experts

Kingston, NY more >
Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Using LinkedIn for Networking and Your Job Search

5:30 pm – 7:00 pm Olin, Room 204 more >
Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Resume Round Table Workshop

5:30 pm – 6:30 pm Campus Center, Meeting Room 214 more >
Monday, March 17, 2014

Why Law School is a Good Idea - Information Session

6:30 pm Campus Center, Meeting Room 214 more >
Thursday, March 13, 2014

Using Yoga to Advance your Career Goals

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Campus Center, Red Room 202 more >
Monday, March 10, 2014

Columbia Publishing Course Information Session

3:00 pm – 5:00 pm Campus Center, Red Room 202 more >
Friday, March 7, 2014 – Monday, March 10, 2014

Fund for the Public Interest Information Table & Interviews: Post-Grad Opportunities

11:00 am – 5:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Thursday, March 6, 2014 – Sunday, March 16, 2014

Kaplan Graduate School Practice Exams - GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT

Virtual more >
Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Peace Corps Information Table & Session

11:00 am – 6:00 pm Kline Commons more >
Thursday, February 20, 2014

Public History Dinner and Conversation Bringing together Bard Students and History Internship Organizations

6:00 pm Elemendorph Inn * Red Hook more >
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 – Friday, April 4, 2014

Interested in Broadcasting? Attend the SAG-AFTRA NY Mentoring Broadcast Program

NYC more >
Friday, February 14, 2014 – Monday, March 31, 2014

Apply Now: Community Action Awards

12:00 am – 12:00 am Online more >
Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Teach for America Campus Event - "The Lottery" Screening

5:30 pm – 8:30 pm Campus Center, Weis Cinema more >
Thursday, February 6, 2014

Senior Salon Series: CDO Open House

4:00 pm – 6:00 pm Campus Center, Room 201 more >
Thursday, February 6, 2014 – Saturday, February 22, 2014

Bloomberg Aptitude Test (BAT) at Bard College

10:00 am – 12:00 pm Henderson 106 more >
Tuesday, February 4, 2014

GoinGlobal Launch and Summer Internship Workshop

4:00 pm – 5:30 pm Campus Center, Weis Cinema more >
Thursday, January 30, 2014

Etsy Hudson Site Visit - Learn About Careers at Etsy!

6:30 pm – 8:30 pm Hudson, NY more >
Sunday, January 19, 2014 – Friday, January 24, 2014

Bard Works

10:00 am – 10:00 pm Multiple Locations more >
Friday, January 10, 2014 – Friday, January 31, 2014

C2C Fellows Sustainability Leadership Workshop - Call for Applications

Bard College Campus more >
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 – Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Mid-Hudson Career Consortium (MHCC) Career EXPLORATION Trips

Off Campus more >
Thursday, November 14, 2013

Bard Center for Environmental Policy's 3+2 Program Information Session

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Reem-Kayden Center more >
Monday, November 11, 2013

Bard Works Dinner Information Session

6:15 pm Off Campus more >
Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Careers in Teaching Panel

5:00 pm Campus Center, Weis Cinema more >
Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Mercer Law School Information Table

11:00 am – 2:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Thursday, October 31, 2013

Christie's Education Information Table

11:30 am – 1:30 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Discussing Careers in International Affairs

<1>With Ambassador Robert Gosende
3:15 pm – 4:00 am Campus Center, Weis Cinema more >
Friday, October 11, 2013 – Friday, November 1, 2013

Deadline for On Campus Teaching Interviews with Carney, Sandoe & Associates

9:00 am – 5:00 pm TBD more >
Thursday, October 10, 2013

SUNY Buffalo Law School Information Table

12:00 pm – 2:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Exploration School Virtual Information Session

<1>Summer Opportunities Working and Teaching at Wellesley
12:30 pm – 1:30 pm Campus Center, Red Room 202 more >
Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Japanese Exchange Teaching Program, JET, Information Session

12:00 pm Campus Center, Meeting Room 214 more >
Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Champlain College Information Table

<1>M.F.A in Emergent Media
12:00 pm – 2:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Thursday, October 3, 2013

Teach for America Information Session

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Reem-Kayden Center Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium more >
Thursday, October 3, 2013

Explore the Interview and Realize your Potential

12:00 pm Campus Center, Red Room 202 more >
Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Morningstar Virtual Information Session

7:00 pm Virtual more >
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 – Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Graduate School Test Prep: Kaplan's Classroom Anywhere Online Practice Tests

Online more >
Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Johns Hopkins University and Nanjing University Information Table

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Kaplan Information Table: Learn About Graduate School Exams

<1>(GRE, GMAT, MCAT, LSAT)
11:00 am – 3:00 pm Kline Commons more >
Monday, September 16, 2013 – Monday, October 28, 2013

New York Women in Communications Conference - Application Deadline

<1>in New York City
9:00 am – 5:00 pm New York City more >
Monday, September 16, 2013 – Monday, October 7, 2013

Early Leaders Case Competition at University of Rochester's Simon School of Business

<1>Bard College is one of Simon School's Partner Institutions
University of Rochester Campus more >
Sunday, September 15, 2013

The Interview Conversation: Responses to Expected and Unexpected Questions

1:00 pm Anne Cox Chambers Alumni/ae Center more >
Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Senior Salon – The Interview Process – Know Thyself

5:00 pm Olin, Room 204 more >
Monday, September 9, 2013 – Saturday, September 28, 2013

Bloomberg Aptitude Test (BAT) at Bard College - Registration Deadline

10:00 am – 12:00 pm Henderson 106 more >
Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Senior Salon Kick-off Celebration and Reception

5:30 pm Anne Cox Chambers Alumni/ae Center more >
Monday, September 2, 2013 – Friday, September 27, 2013

The Fall Recruiting Consortium (FRC) - Deadlines

<1>in New York City
9:00 am – 5:00 pm New York City more >
Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Off-Campus Government and Public Service Career Day

1:00 pm – 4:30 pm Roosevelt Estate Hyde Park, Wallace Center more >
Thursday, April 18, 2013

New York Working Families Party Information Table

<1>Full Time Positions and Summer Internships

10:00 am – 2:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Peace Corps Information Session

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm Campus Center, Meeting Room 214 more >
Thursday, March 7, 2013 – Thursday, March 21, 2013

Senior Resume Round Table Workshops (sign up required)

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Campus Center, Red Room 202 more >
Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Teach for America Film Screening and Discussion on Education Achievement Gap

6:00 pm – 9:00 pm Campus Center, Weis Cinema more >
Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Senior Open House in the Career Development Office (CDO)

4:00 pm – 6:00 pm Campus Center, Room 201 more >
Thursday, January 31, 2013

Teach for America Information Table

10:00 am – 4:00 pm Campus Center, Lobby more >
Saturday, January 19, 2013 – Friday, January 25, 2013

Bard Works

<1>Linking the Liberal Arts to the Workplace
Bard College Campus more >