Dean of Student Affairs

Student Handbook

Contact Us

For further information, contact:

The Dean of Student Affairs Office
Bard College
PO Box 5000
Annandale-on-Hudson, NY 12504

Phone: 845-758-7454
E-mail: dosa@bard.edu

2015-2016 Academic and Campus Life Calendar

 

Academic/Campus Life Calendar

2015 - 2016

 

 

Summer 2015

Saturday, August 8                         First-Year Students Arrive
                                                       
Check-in & Financial Clearance (Bertelsmann
                                                             Campus Center
 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.)
                                                     
   First-Year Student Orientation


Monday, August 10                         
Kline Commons opens at 7:30 a.m.


Monday, August 10 -                       Language and Thinking Program

Wednesday, August 26                

 

                                                        

Fall 2015

Wednesday, August 26                  Transfer Students Arrive
                                                       Check-in & Financial Clearance for Transfer
                                                             Students (10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., RKC)


Wednesday, August 26 –               Academic Orientation
  for Transfer Students                    
Thursday, August 27
                                
Thursday, August 27 -                    Matriculation Days
Friday, August 28                           Advising and Registration for new First-Year and
                                                             Transfer Students


Saturday, August 29                       Arrival Day for all Returning Students
                                                       
Check-in & Financial Clearance for all
Returning
                                                             Students (10:00 a.m. - 4
:00 p.m.,
                                                            
MPR, Bertelsmann Campus Center)
                                                 
Monday, August 31                         First Day of Classes
                                                        
Drop/Add period begins
                                                        
Registration for students returning from Leave of
                                                              Absence (if not done previously on-line)

Monday, September 14                    Fall Room Change Request Period Begins


Wednesday, September 16               Drop/Add period ends at 5:00 p.m.
                                                          Pass/fail grading option deadline


Monday, October 12 -                      Fall Break
     Tuesday, October 13

Friday, October 23                            Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due
                                                           Moderation Papers due

Friday, October 23 -                          Family Weekend
     Sunday, October 25                    
 
Wednesday, November 19                 Fall Room Change Request Period Ends

Friday, November 20                         Last Day to Withdraw from a Class

Wednesday, November 25
                Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.


W
ednesday, November 25 (5 pm)     Thanksgiving Recess
     - Sunday, November 29              


Sunday, November 29                        Kline Commons reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Monday, November 30                       Senior Projects due by 5:00 p.m.


Wednesday, December 9                    Advising Day

Thursday, December 10                     Registration opens for Spring 2016 classes
                   


Monday, December 14 -                    Completion Days

Friday, December 18


Friday, December 18                          Last Day of Classes

                                                            Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m. 
              

Saturday, December 19                      All students must vacate their residence halls by
        3:00 p.m.


Saturday, December 19 (3 p.m.)        Student housing not available

     - Sunday, January 3                    


 

                                                        Intersession

Saturday, December 19 -                Winter Intersession
    
Friday, January 22                       


Monday, January 4                         Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due


Monday, January 4                          Intersession housing begins


                                                      
Citizen Science Program 2016

Saturday, January 9                             First-Year Students Return for Citizen Science
                                                             Program


Sunday, January 10 -                          Citizen Science Program

     Wednesday, January 27

    

                                                       
                                                       Spring 2016

Wednesday, January 27                  New First-Year and Transfer Students Arrive
                                                        Check-in and Financial Clearance
                                                        (10:00 a.m.-12:00 noon, Reem Kayden Center)     


Thursday, January 28 -                   Academic Orientation, Advising and Registration
      Friday, January 29                         for New First-Year and Transfer Students

Saturday, January 30                       Arrival Day for all Returning Students
                                                         Check-in & Financial Clearance for all Returning
                                                             Students (10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m., MPR,
                                                             Bertelsmann Campus Center)                                                        
                                                          Kline Commons opens at 4:30 p.m.               


Monday, February 1                          First Day of Classes

                                                         Drop/Add period begins


Monday, February 15                       Spring Room Change Request Period Begins


Wednesday, February 17                 Drop/Add period ends at 5:00 p.m.
                                                         Pass/fail grading option deadline


Friday, March 18                             Moderation Papers Due

                                                         Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.


Saturday, March 19 -                      Spring Recess
     Sunday, March 27                    

Sunday, March 27                           Kline Commons reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Monday, March 28                          Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due

Monday, April 11                            
Spring Room Change Request Period Ends

TBA (Mid to Late April)                Room Draw: Night One


TBA (Mid to Late April)                Room Draw: Night Two

                                                       
Monday, May 2 -                             Advising Days

     Tuesday, May 3

Tuesday, May 3                               Last Day to Withdraw from a Class


Wednesday, May 4                          Senior Projects due  (by 5:00 p.m.)

Thursday, May 12                             Registration opens for Fall 2016 classes

Wednesday, May 18 -                       Completion Days
     Tuesday, May 24


Monday, May 23                              Senior Grades due in the Office of the Registrar


Tuesday, May 24                              Last Day of Classes

                                                           Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.               

Wednesday, May 25                          All Non-Graduating Students must vacate their
                                                                 residence halls by 3:00 p.m.


Thursday, May 26                             Baccalaureate and Senior Dinner


Saturday, May 28                              Commencement


Sunday, May 29                                 All remaining students must vacate their residence
                                                                  halls by 3:00 p.m.


Monday, June 6                                  Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due in the Office
                                                                  of the Registrar