Bard College Student Handbook

2017-2018 Academic and Campus Life Calendar

Academic/Campus Life Calendar

2017 - 2018

 

 

Summer 2017

Friday, August 11                          First-Year Students Arrive
                                                             Check-in & Financial Clearance (Bertelsmann
                                                                  Campus Center
 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.)
                                                     
   First-Year Student Orientation


Monday, August 14                        Kline Commons opens at 7:30 a.m.


Monday, August 14 -                      Language and Thinking Program
Wednesday, August 30
                                                     

Fall 2017

Tuesday, August 29                        Transfer Students Arrive
                                                              Check-in & Financial Clearance for Transfer
                                                                     Students (10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., RKC)


Wednesday, August 30 –                Academic Orientation  for Transfer Students                     
Thursday, August 31
                                
Thursday, August 31 -                    Matriculation Days

Friday, September 1                       Advising and Registration for new First-Year and Transfer Students
                                                            

Saturday, September 2                   Arrival Day for all Returning Students
                                                          Check-in & Financial Clearance for all Returning
                                                                 Students (10:00 a.m. - 4
:00 p.m., MPR,
                                                                 Bertelsmann Campus Center)
                                                 
Monday, September 4                     First Day of Classes
                                                          Drop/Add period begins
                                                          Registration for students returning from Leave of
                                                              Absence (if not done previously on-line)

Wednesday, September 13             Drop/Add period ends at 5:00 p.m.

Monday, September 18                  Fall Room Change Request Period Begins
                                                           
Wednesday, October 4                   Late drop period ends
                                                         Pass/D/Fail grading option deadline


Monday, October 9 -                      Fall Break
     Tuesday, October 10

Friday, October 20 -                       Family Weekend
     Sunday, October 22                    
 

Friday, October 27                         Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due
                                                         Moderation Papers due

Wednesday, November 15             Fall Room Change Request Period Ends

Wednesday, November 22
             Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.


Wednesday, November 22 (5 pm)     Thanksgiving Recess 
     - Sunday, November 26              


Sunday, November 26                     Kline Commons reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Friday, December 1                         Last Day to Withdraw from a Class

Monday, December 11                     Senior Projects due by 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday, December 13               Advising Day

Thursday, December 14                  Registration opens for Spring 2018 classes                    


Monday, December 18 -                  Completion Days
Friday, December 22


Friday, December 22                        Last Day of Classes
                                                           Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m. 
              

Saturday, December 23                    All students must vacate their residence halls by
                                                                  3:00 p.m.


Saturday, December 23 (3 p.m.)      Student housing not available
     - Monday, January 1          


                                                       Intersession

Saturday, December 23 -                   Winter Intersession
    
Friday, January 26                       


Monday, January 2                            Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due


Tuesday, January 2                            Intersession housing begins

                                                       Citizen Science Program 2018

Saturday, January 6                           First-Year Students Return for Citizen Science
                                                                   Program


Sunday, January 7 -                            Citizen Science Program
     Wednesday, January 24

                                                           
                                                       Spring 2018

Tuesday, January 23                            New First-Year and Transfer Students Arrive
                                                                    Check-in and Financial Clearance
                                                                    (10:00 a.m.-12:00 noon, Reem Kayden Center)     


Wednessday, January 24 -                  Academic Orientation, Advising and Registration
      Friday, January 26                              for New First-Year and Transfer Students

Saturday, January 27                          Arrival Day for all Returning Students                                                        
                                                               Kline Commons opens at 4:30 p.m.               


Monday, January 29                            First Day of Classes
                                                               Drop/Add period begins


Wednesday, February 7                       Drop/Add period ends at 5:00 p.m.
                                                       
Monday, February 12                          Spring Room Change Request Period Begins

Wednesday, February 28                     Late drop period ends
                                                                Pass/D/Fail grading option deadline

Friday, March 16                                  Moderation Papers Due
                                                                Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.


Saturday, March 17 -                            Spring Recess
     Sunday, March 225                   

Sunday, March 25                                 Kline Commons reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Monday, March 26                               Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due

Monday, April 9                                   
Spring Room Change Request Period Ends

TBA (Mid to Late April)                     Room Draw: Night One

TBA (Mid to Late April)                     Room Draw: Night Two
                                                       
Monday, April 30 -                               Advising Days
     Tuesday, May 1

Tuesday, May 1                                     Last Day to Withdraw from a Class


Wednesday, May 2                               Senior Projects due  (by 5:00 p.m.)

Thursday, May 10                                Registration opens for Fall 2018 classes

Wednesday, May 16 -                           Completion Days
     Tuesday, May 22


Monday, May 21                                  Senior Grades due in the Office of the Registrar


Tuesday, May 22                                  Last Day of Classes
                                                               Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.               

Wednesday, May 23                             All Non-Graduating Students must vacate their
                                                                    residence halls by 3:00 p.m.


Thursday, May 24                                Baccalaureate and Senior Dinner


Saturday, May 26                                 Commencement


Sunday, May 28                                    All remaining students must vacate their residence
                                                                     halls by 3:00 p.m.


Monday, June 4                                      Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due in the Office
                                                                       of the Registrar