Bard Early Colleges

Student Profiles

Declan McPherson

Declan McPherson '05

"From my first day at BHSEC, I was forced to achieve and pushed to do more than I thought I could." VIEW MORE >>
Support Early College

Our People

Bard Early Colleges Administrative Team

This is the contact page for the network offices. To contact a specific school, please scroll down.
 

Bard Early Colleges Network Offices
(718) 361-3133 x8726
earlycollege@bard.edu

Stephen Tremaine
Vice President for Early Colleges
tremaine@bard.edu

Clara Haskell Botstein
Associate Vice President for Early Colleges
cbotstein@bard.edu

John Weinstein
Dean of Early Colleges
jweinstein@bhsec.bard.edu

Brian Mateo
Assistant Dean, Civic Engagement
bmateo@bard.edu 

John Gardenhire
Finance and Operations Manager
jgardenhire@bard.edu 

Anna Hessa
Development Officer
ahessa@bec.bard.edu 

Murphy Austin
Data and Evaluation Manager
maustin@bec.bard.edu

Shazia Muhammad 
Finance Assistant
smuhammad@bec.bard.edu

Ligaya Franklin
Program Associate 
lfranklin@bec.bard.edu 

Dre Szegedy-Maszak
Strategic Initiatives Associate
d_szegedymaszak@bec.bard.edu 

David Hills
Program Associate
dhills@bhsec.bard.edu 
 

Our Faculty

Our faculty are active and accomplished scholars in their fields, who combine subject matter expertise with a passion for teaching adolescents.

Our Staff

Our staff come from the public and private sectors and are dedicated to supporting rigorous educational opportunities for secondary school students.

National Advisory Board

Brian Carter, Program Officer, Overdeck Family Foundation
Alexandra Contreras, Senior Analyst, Global Diversity & Inclusion, Colgate-Palmolive, Bard Early Colleges parent
Margaret Hempel, Foundation Director, Gender, Sexuality, and Reproductive Justice, Ford Foundation
Tessa Huxley, Bard Early Colleges parent
Ben Iselin, Partner, McGuire Woods, LLP, Bard Early Colleges parent
Charles Johnson, Partner, Holland & Knight LLP, Trustee, Bard College
Dayna Langfan, Bard Early Colleges parent
Beth Lief, Executive Director, Petrie Foundation
Matt Mallow, Senior Managing Director and General Counsel, BlackRock
Ray Peterson, Formerly Founding Principal of Bard High School Early College Manhattan and Newark
Geoff Smith, Chair, Managing Director, Digitalis Ventures
Marquitta Speller, Ed.D., Executive Director of Secondary & Collegiate Programs, Harlem Children’s Zone, Inc.
David Tsang, Senior Strategy Consultant, IBM, Bard Early Colleges alumnus
Jay Quaintance, President, SUNY Sullivan Community College