Bard Early Colleges

Student Profiles

Declan McPherson

Declan McPherson '05

"From my first day at BHSEC, I was forced to achieve and pushed to do more than I thought I could." VIEW MORE >>
Support Early College

Our People

Faculty and staff at the Bard Early Colleges are highly qualified professionals who have a strong commitment to early college and liberal arts education.

Bard Early Colleges Administrative Team

Stephen Tremaine
Vice President for Early Colleges 
tremaine@bard.edu

Clara Botstein
Associate Vice President for Early Colleges
cbotstein@bard.edu

John Weinstein 
Dean of Early Colleges
jweinstein@bhsec.bard.edu

Alexis Chartschlaa
Early College Fellow
achartschlaa@bec.bard.edu

Tina Moreno
Human Resources Manager
tmoreno@bec.bard.edu

Ella Geismar
Program Associate
egeismar@bec.bard.edu

Demitris Marcano
Development Associate
dmarcano@bec.bard.edu

AbiDemi Williams
Grants Associate
awilliams@bec.bard.edu

Alex Dymovsky
Data Manager
adymovsky@bhsec.bard.edu

 

Our Faculty

Our faculty are active and accomplished scholars in their fields, who combine subject matter expertise with a passion for teaching adolescents.

Our Staff

Our staff come from the public and private sectors and are dedicated to supporting rigorous educational opportunities for secondary school students.

National Advisory Board

Alexandra Contreras
Senior Analyst, Global Diversity & Inclusion, Colgate-Palmolive
Bard Early Colleges parent

Margaret Hempel
Foundation Director, Gender, Sexuality, and Reproductive Justice, Ford Foundation
Bard Early Colleges parent

Tessa Huxley
Executive Director, Battery Park City Parks Conservancy
Bard Early Colleges parent

Ben Iselin
Partner, McGuire Woods, LLP
Bard Early Colleges parent

Charles Johnson
Partner, Holland & Knight LLP; Trustee, Bard College

Beth Lief
Executive Director, Petrie Foundation; Former President, New Visions for Public Schools

Matt Mallow
Senior Managing Director and General Counsel, BlackRock

Ray Peterson
Former Founding Principal of Bard High School Early College Manhattan and Newark

Carol Reich
Founder, Beginning with Children Foundation and Charter Schools

Geoff Smith
Managing Partner, Digital Ventures

Dr. Marquitta Torri Speller
Executive Director of Secondary and Collegiate Programs, Harlem Children's Zone

Dr. David Steiner
Executive Director of the Johns Hopkins Institute for Education Policy; Professor, School of Education, Johns Hopkins University

David Tsang
Senior Strategy Consultant, IBM
Bard Early Colleges alumnus