The Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities at Bard College
The Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities at Bard College

News, Events, & Activities



Current and Upcoming Events

Monthly Virtual Reading Group for Hannah Arendt Center Members

Friday, February 6, 2015 – Friday, December 4, 2015 , 11:00 am – 12:00 am , Virtual: BlueJeans Video Conferencing
[expand/collapse]

Lunchtime Talk with Hannah Arendt Center Visiting Fellow, Ari-Elmeri Hyvonen

"Arendt's Critique of Modern Society as an Analysis of Process Imaginary"
Tuesday, March 3, 2015 , 1:00 pm , Arendt Center
[expand/collapse]

Talk with Klemens von Klemperer Hannah Arendt Post Doctoral Fellow, Angela Maione

"Figuring Rights: Wollstonecraft and the Radical Republican Imaginary"
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 , 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm , Arendt Center
[expand/collapse]

Film Screening, A Snake Gives Birth to a Snake and Director's Discussion by Michael Lessac

Tuesday, March 24, 2015 , 6:30 pm , Campus Center, Weis Cinema
[expand/collapse]

Courage To Be: Lecture and Dinner Series, with Uday Mehta

Putting Courage at the Centre: Gandhi on Civility, Society and Self–Knowledge
Monday, March 30, 2015 , 6:00 pm , Manor House Cafe
[expand/collapse]

Property and Freedom: Are Access to Legal Title and Assets the Path to Overcoming Poverty in South Africa?

A one-day conference sponsored by the Hannah Arendt Center, Human Rights Project, and Center for Civic Engagement, with support from the Ford Foundation, The Brenthurst Foundation, and The University of The Western Cape
Monday, April 6, 2015 , Campus Center, Weis Cinema
[expand/collapse]

Lunchtime Talk with visiting Hannah Arendt Center Visiting Fellow, Shmuel Lederman

"Relations between Hannah Arendt's council system and The Human Condition"
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 , 12:00 pm , Arendt Center
[expand/collapse]

Lunchtime Talk with Visiting Fellow, Rosanil Nava

Tuesday, April 21, 2015 , 12:00 pm , Arendt Center
[expand/collapse]

The Life of Roman Republicanism with Joy Connolly

Wednesday, April 22, 2015 , 6:00 pm [expand/collapse]

Courage To Be: Lecture and Dinner Series, with Keith Haring Fellow in Art and Activism, Jeanne van Heeswijk

Monday, April 27, 2015 , 6:00 pm , Kline, Faculty Dining Room
[expand/collapse]

Lunchtime Talk with Hannah Arendt Center Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow, Michiel Bot

"The Right to Literature"
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 , 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm , Arendt Center
[expand/collapse]

Translating the Holocaust: H.G. Adler As Writer and Scholar

Monday, May 4, 2015 , 4:00 pm [expand/collapse]

The Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities Eighth Annual Conference

"Privacy: Why Does it Matter?"
Thursday, October 15, 2015 – Friday, October 16, 2015 , 10:00 am – 5:00 pm , Olin Hall
[expand/collapse]