Bard College Commencement

Bard College Commencement

Commencement 2016

Bard College will hold its 156th commencement on Saturday, May 28, 2016.

Sherrilyn Ifill Gives 2015 Commencement Address at Bard College

In her address to the class of 2015, Sherrilyn Ifill, president and director-counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc., charged the graduates, "To exercise true citizenship, you will be obligated to help our nation grapple with its most vexing and starkest contradictions."

Commencement 2015

Bard's 155th Commencement

Bard College held its 155th commencement on Saturday, May 23, 2015.
At the commencement ceremony, Bard President Leon Botstein conferred 420 undergraduate degrees on the Class of 2015 and 148 graduate degrees. The commencement address was given by Sherrilyn Ifill, president and director-counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. Ifill received an honorary doctorate of laws. Honorary degrees were also awarded to dancer and choreographer Arthur Aviles ’87, neurobiologist Cori Bargmann, historian Anthony Grafton, and artist Kiki Smith.

Read More:
Bard College Holds One Hundred Fifty-Fifth Commencement on Saturday, May 23, 2015

Schedule of Events

Commencement Exercises
Celebrate the graduation of the Class of 2015 and the awarding of honorary degrees.
Commencement Tent, Seth Goldfine Memorial Rugby Field
2:30 pm

Conferring of the Honorary Degrees
  • Sherrilyn Ifill
    Commencement Speaker
    Doctor of Laws

  • Arthur Aviles '87
    Doctor of Fine Arts
    Alumni/ae Honorary Degree

  • Cori Bargmann
    Doctor of Science

  • Anthony Grafton
    Doctor of Humane Letters

  • Kiki Smith
    Doctor of Fine Arts

Conferring of Graduate Degrees
Doctor of Philosophy, Master of Philosophy, and Master of Arts
in Decorative Arts, Design History, Material Culture
Master of Fine Arts
Master of Science in Climate Science and Policy
Master of Science in Environmental Policy
Master of Arts in Curatorial Studies
Master of Arts in Teaching
Master of Music in Conducting
Master of Music in Vocal Arts
Master of Business Administration in Sustainability

Conferring of Bachelor Degrees
Bachelor of Arts
Bachelor of Music
Bachelor of Science

Contact Us

Please contact the Office of Special Events at or 845-758-7867 with questions about commencement.


Online registration for Commencement and Alumni/ae Reunion Weekend is now closed. Tickets for many of the events will be available on campus. Visit the registration desk in the Campus Center for more information.