Award for Curatorial Excellence

Each year, the Center for Curatorial Studies celebrates the achievements of a leading curator whose lasting contributions have shaped the way we conceive of exhibition-making today. The awardee is selected by an independent panel of leading contemporary art curators, museum directors, and artists. The award reflects CCS Bard’s commitment to recognizing individuals who have defined new thinking, bold vision, and dedicated practice to the field of exhibition practice.

Lia Gangitano, 2018

Nicholas Serota, 2017

Nicholas Serota, 2017

Thelma Golden, 2016

Thelma Golden, 2016

Christine Tohme

Christine Tohme, 2015

Martha Wilson

Martha Wilson, 2015

Charles Esche

Charles Esche, 2014

Elisabeth Sussman

Elisabeth Sussman, 2013

Ann Goldstein

Ann Goldstein, 2012

Helen Molesworth

Helen Molesworth, 2011

Hans Ulrich Obrist

Hans Ulrich Obrist, 2011

Lucy Lippard

Lucy Lippard, 2010


Okwui Enwezor, 2009

Catherine David

Catherine David, 2008

Alanna Heiss

Alanna Heiss, 2007

Lynne Cooke

Lynne Cooke, 2006

Vasif Kortun

Vasif Kortun, 2006

Kathy Halbreich

Kathy Halbreich, 2005

Mari Carmen Ramirez

Mari Carmen Ramirez, 2005

Walter Hopps

Walter Hopps, 2004

Kynatson McShine

Kynaston McShine, 2003

Susanne Ghez

Susanne Ghez, 2002

Paul Schimmel

Paul Schimmel, 2001

Kasper Konig

Kasper Konig, 2000

Marcia Tucker

Marcia Tucker, 1999

Harald Szeemann

Harald Szeemann, 1998