Faculty Profiles

Da Capo Chamber Players

in residence

Widely acclaimed for virtuosity and stimulating programs, Da Capo is synonymous with an exciting legacy of musical directions: openness to a wide spectrum of styles of new music, plus a special dedication to working with composers. Winner of the Naumburg Chamber Music Award in 1973, Da Capo has long been a leader in building a strong heritage of present-day American chamber music, pointing with pride to more than 90 chamber music works written especially for the group by such diverse composers as Joan Tower, Philip Glass, Harvey Sollberger, Philippe Bodin, and many others.

The members of Da Capo are Curtis Macomber, violin; André Emelianoff, cello; Blair McMillen, piano; Patricia Spencer, flute; and Meighan Stoops, clarinet. The group's recent major commissions include Chinary Ung's Oracle (commissioned by the Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust) and John Harbison's Songs America Loves to Sing (commissioned with an award from the Barlow Endowment for Music Composition). Future plans include a program featuring Russian composers, a new work by Richard Teitelbaum, a new work by Kyle Gann, a program of Pacific Rim composers, and a program specifically focusing on younger American composers. The group's recent CD, chamber music by Judith Shatin, was released on the Innova label.