Bard News & Events

Press Release


Mark Primoff
ANNANDALE-ON-HUDSON, N.Y.—The Bard Music Festival Book Series is the winner of the 39th annual American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP) Deems Taylor Special Recognition Award for outstanding print, broadcast, and new media coverage of music. Chosen in the Symphonic Articles category, the Bard Music Festival Book Series was honored with other 2006 ASCAP Deems Taylor award winners at a special ceremony held at the Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, The Allen Room, Broadway at 60th Street, New York City, on December 7, 2006. “All of us at the Bard Music Festival are deeply honored to receive this recognition from ASCAP,” said Leon Botstein, founder and coartistic director of the Bard Music Festival and president of Bard College. “I would like to extend my deepest appreciation to the all of the noted scholars, editors, and staff members who have contributed to the Festival’s book series.” The Bard Music Festival (BMF) was founded in 1990 to promote new ways of understanding and presenting the history of music to a contemporary audience. Each year, the Bard Music Festival undertakes the exploration of a single composer’s life, work, and times. The festival seeks to link music to the worlds of literature, painting, theater, philosophy, and politics—bridging the worlds of performance and scholarship in innovative and exciting ways. In conjunction with Princeton University Press, Bard publishes a book of related articles, essays, and letters edited by a prominent music scholar to complement the festival’s concerts, lectures, and panel discussions. These volumes include new scholarship and interpretation as well as documents, many previously unavailable in English. Books already published in the ongoing Bard Music Festival Book Series are: Franz Liszt and His World, Christopher H. Gibbs and Dana Gooley, eds. (2006); Aaron Copland and His World, Carol J. Oja and Judith Tick, eds. (2005); Shostakovich and His World, Laurel E. Fay, ed. (2004); Janáček and His World, Michael Beckerman, ed. (2003); Mahler and His World, Karen Painter, ed. (2002); Debussy and His World, Jane F. Fulcher, ed. (2001); Beethoven and His World, Scott Burnham and Michael P. Steinberg, eds. (2000); Schoenberg and His World, Walter Frisch, ed. (1999); Tchaikovsky and His World, Leslie Kearney, ed. (1998); Haydn and His World, Elaine R. Sisman, ed. (1997); Charles Ives and His World, J. Peter Burkholder, ed. (1996); Bartók and His World, Peter Laki, ed. (1995); Schumann and His World, R. Larry Todd, ed. (1994); Dvořák and His World, Michael Beckerman, ed. (1993); Richard Strauss and His World, Bryan Gilliam, ed. (1992); Mendelssohn and His World, R. Larry Todd, ed. (1991), and Brahms and His World, Walter Frisch, ed. (1990). Established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer/critic/commentator Deems Taylor who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP, the ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award program recognizes books, articles, liner notes, broadcasts, and websites on the subject of music selected for their excellence. Over the years, tens of thousands of dollars have been distributed to prizewinners. ASCAP is a membership association of more than 250,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music. Since 1914, ASCAP has protected the rights of its members by licensing and distributing royalties for the nondramatic public performances of their copyrighted works. ASCAP’s licensees encompass all who want to perform copyrighted music publicly. ASCAP makes giving and obtaining permission to perform music simple for both creators and users of music. ASCAP is the only U.S. performing rights organization created and controlled by composers, songwriters, and music publishers, with a board of directors elected by and from the membership. # # # (12/8/06)

back to top

This event was last updated on 01-25-2007