Academic Calendar

Academic Year 2017–2018

Fall Semester

Friday, August 11, 2017
Arrival Day, Check-in, and Financial Clearance for All First-Year Students
Monday, August 14, 2017 – Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Language and Thinking Program
Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Arrival Day, Check-in, and Financial Clearance for Transfer Students
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 – Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Academic Orientation for Transfer Students
Thursday, August 31, 2017 – Friday, September 1, 2017
Matriculation Days
Thursday, August 31, 2017 – Friday, September 1, 2017
Advising and Registration for New First-Year and Transfer Students
Saturday, September 2, 2017
Arrival Day for All Returning Students
Saturday, September 2, 2017
Check-in and Financial Clearance for All Returning Students 10 am – 4 pm
Monday, September 4, 2017
First Day of Classes
Wednesday, September 6, 2017
First Faculty Meeting of the Semester Campus Center, Multipurpose Room, 4:45 pm
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Drop/Add Period Ends at 5:00 p.m. 5 pm
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Late Drop Period Ends - Pass/Fail Grading Option Deadline
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Fall Break
Friday, October 20, 2017 – Sunday, October 22, 2017
Family Weekend
Visit Bard and beautiful Annandale for a variety of events, including the Ask the President forum, sample classes, live performances, campus tours, and panel discussions.
Friday, October 27, 2017
Moderation Papers Due
Friday, October 27, 2017
Midterm Grades and Criteria Sheets Due
Thursday, November 23, 2017 – Sunday, November 26, 2017
Thanksgiving Recess (classes end at 5 p.m. on Wednesday)
Friday, December 1, 2017
Last Day to Withdraw from a Class
Monday, December 11, 2017
Senior Projects Due (5:00 p.m.) 5 pm
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Advising Day.
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Registration for Spring Classes Opens at 8:00 am 8 am
Monday, December 18, 2017 – Friday, December 22, 2017
Completion Days
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Final Faculty Meeting of the Semester Campus Center, Multipurpose Room, 4:45 pm
Friday, December 22, 2017
Last Day of Classes
Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Final Fall Grades and Criteria Sheets Due

Intersession

Saturday, January 6, 2018
First-Year Students Return for Citizen Science Program
Sunday, January 7, 2018 – Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Citizen Science Program
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Arrival Day, Check-in, and Financial Clearance for Transfer Students
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 – Friday, January 26, 2018
Academic Orientation, Advising, and Registration for Spring Transfers

Spring Semester

Saturday, January 27, 2018
Arrival Day for All Returning Students
Saturday, January 27, 2018
Check-in and Financial Clearance for All Returning Students 10 am – 4 pm
Monday, January 29, 2018
First Day of Classes
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
First Faculty Meeting of the Semester Campus Center, Multipurpose Room, 4:45 pm
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Drop/Add Period Ends at 5:00 p.m. 5 pm
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Late Drop Period Ends - Pass/Fail Grading Option Deadline
Friday, March 16, 2018
Moderation Papers Due
Saturday, March 17, 2018 – Sunday, March 25, 2018
Spring Recess
Monday, March 26, 2018
Midterm Grades and Criteria Sheets Due
Monday, April 30, 2018 – Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Advising Days
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Last Day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Senior Projects Due (5:00 p.m.) 5 pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Registration for Fall Classes Opens
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 – Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Completion Days – regular classes and final exams
All students and faculty remain on campus.
Monday, May 21, 2018
Provisional Senior Grades Due in the Office of the Registrar
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Last Day of Classes
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Final Faculty Meeting of the Semester Campus Center, Multipurpose Room, 4:45 pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Baccalaureate and Senior Dinner
Saturday, May 26, 2018
Commencement
Monday, June 4, 2018
Final Grades and Criteria Sheets Due in the Office of the Registrar

Academic Year 2018–2019

Fall Semester

Friday, August 10, 2018
Arrival Day, Check-in, and Financial Clearance for All First-Year Students
Monday, August 13, 2018 – Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Language and Thinking Program
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Arrival Day, Check-in, and Financial Clearance for Transfer Students
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 – Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Academic Orientation for Transfer Students
Thursday, August 30, 2018 – Friday, August 31, 2018
Matriculation Days
Advising and Registration for New First-Year and Transfer Students
Saturday, September 1, 2018
Arrival Day for All Returning Students
Check-in and Financial Clearance for All Returning Students
Monday, September 3, 2018
First Day of Classes
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
First Faculty Meeting of the Semester Campus Center, Multipurpose Room, 4:45 pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Drop/Add Period Ends 5 pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Late Drop Period Ends - Pass/Fail Grading Option Deadline
Monday, October 8, 2018 – Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Fall Break
Friday, October 26, 2018
Midterm Grades and Criteria Sheets Due
Friday, October 26, 2018
Moderation Papers Due
Thursday, November 22, 2018 – Sunday, November 25, 2018
Thanksgiving Recess (classes end at 5 p.m. on Wednesday)
Friday, November 30, 2018
Last Day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Advising Day
Monday, December 10, 2018
Senior Projects Due 5 pm
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Registration for Spring Classes Opens 8 am
Monday, December 17, 2018 – Friday, December 21, 2018
Completion Days - regular classes and final exams
All students and faculty remain on campus
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Final Faculty Meeting of the Semester Campus Center, Multipurpose Room, 4:45 pm
Friday, December 21, 2018
Last Day of Classes
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Final Fall Grades and Criteria Sheets Due to the office of the Registrar

Intersession

Friday, January 11, 2019
International Students Return for Citizen Science Program
Saturday, January 12, 2019
Local Students (within 350 miles) Return for Citizen Science Program
Sunday, January 13, 2019 – Thursday, January 24, 2019
Citizen Science Program
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Arrival Day, Check-in, and Financial Clearance for Transfer Students
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 – Friday, January 25, 2019
Academic Orientation, Advising, and Registration for Spring Transfers

Spring Semester

Saturday, January 26, 2019
Check-in and Financial Clearance for All Returning Students
Saturday, January 26, 2019
Arrival Day for All Returning Students
Monday, January 28, 2019
First Day of Classes
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
First Faculty Meeting of the Semester 4:45 pm Campus Center, Multipurpose Room
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Drop/Add Period Ends at 5 p.m.
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Late Drop Period Ends - Pass/Fail Grading Option Deadline
Friday, March 15, 2019
Moderation Papers Due
Saturday, March 16, 2019 – Sunday, March 24, 2019
Spring Recess
Monday, March 25, 2019
Midterm Grades and Criteria Sheets Due
Monday, April 29, 2019 – Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Advising Days
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Last Day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Senior Projects Due by 5 p.m.
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Registration for Fall Classes Opens at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 – Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Completion Days - regular classes and final exams
All students and faculty remain on campus
Monday, May 20, 2019
Provisional Senior Grades Due in the Office of the Registrar
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Last Day of Classes
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Final Faculty Meeting of the Semester  - 4:45 p.m. Campus Center, Multipurpose Room
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Baccalaureate and Senior Dinner
Saturday, May 25, 2019
Commencement
Monday, June 3, 2019
Final Grades and Criteria Sheets Due in the Office of the Registrar