Begin in Berlin

Main Image for Begin in Berlin
Bard College students may elect to start their college career globally by spending their first year at Bard College Berlin: A Liberal Arts University.
Approximately 20 Bard College first-year students may begin their college life at Bard's newest campus in Berlin, Germany. Begin in Berlin students participate in an intellectual community like no other. With small, discussion-based classes taught in English, a classically coherent curriculum that also responds to global changes and crises, an international student body, and a world-class faculty, Bard College Berlin is a good choice for students who wish to start their college career by experiencing life in an intimate environment within one of Europe’s great intellectual, political, economic, and artistic centers.
Program

Program

Students at Bard College Berlin participate in the college’s exceptional academic program, which provides an immersion in intellectual history from ancient Greece to the present day, with rigorous concentration on philosophy, economics, politics, literature, art history, film, and theater and studio arts. Click here for an overview of the program.
 
Eligibility
Students who have officially accepted an offer of admission from Bard College and made their enrollment deposit submit this brief application no later than May 15 expressing their wish to spend their first year in Berlin. After moderating, many juniors also choose to spend a semester in Berlin.

Fees

Tuition, room and board, and required fees are payable to Bard College. In addition to these billed costs, students are responsible for their own travel plans. Proof of health insurance is required for all students. Details of scheduling and costs are available here.

Academic Calendar

Bard College Berlin follows the American academic calendar. Click here to view the academic calendar of Bard College Berlin

KEY DATES

Fall Semester 2019
Student Arrival Day: Saturday, August 10
Language & Thinking Program                      Tuesday, August 13 - Wednesday, August 28
First Day of Classes: Monday, September 2
Fall Break: Monday, October 28 - Sunday, November 3
Last Day of Classes: Friday, December 20
Student Departure Date: Saturday, December 21


Spring Semester 2020
Student Arrival Day:                             Wednesday, January 22
First Day of Classes: Monday, January 27
Spring Break: Monday, March 23 - Sunday, March 29
Last Day of Classes: Friday, May 15
Student Departure Day: Wednesday, May 20