Bard College Student Handbook

2018-2019 Academic and Campus Life Calendar

Academic/Campus Life Calendar

2018 - 2019

 

 

Summer 2018

Friday, August 10                          First-Year Students Arrive
                                                             Check-in & Financial Clearance (Reem Kayden Center 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.)
                                                     
   First-Year Student Orientation

Monday, August 13                        Kline Commons opens at 7:30 a.m.

Monday, August 13 -                      Language and Thinking Program
Wednesday, August 29
                                                     

Fall 2018

Tuesday, August 28                        Transfer Students Arrive
                                                              Check-in & Financial Clearance for Transfer Students (10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.,          
                                                              Reem Kayden Center)

Tuesday, August 28 –                      Academic Orientation  for Transfer Students                     
Wednesday, August 29
                                
Thursday, August 30 -                    Matriculation Days

Friday, August 31                           Advising and Registration for new First-Year and Transfer Students
                                                            

Saturday, September 1                  Arrival Day for all Returning Students
                                                              Check-in & Financial Clearance for all Returning Students
                                                              (10:00 a.m. - 4
:00 p.m., MPR, Bertelsmann Campus Center)
                                                 
Monday, September 3                     First Day of Classes
                                                          Drop/Add period begins
                                                          Registration for students returning from Leave of Absence (if not done
                                                          previously on-line)

Wednesday, September 12             Drop/Add period ends at 5:00 p.m.

Monday, September 17                  Fall Room Change Request Period Begins
                                                           
Wednesday, October 3                   Late drop period ends
                                                         Pass/D/Fail grading option deadline


Monday, October 8 -                      Fall Break
     Tuesday, October 9                    
 

Friday, October 26                         Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due
                                                         Moderation Papers due

Friday, October 26 -                       Family Weekend
     Sunday, October 28

Wednesday, November 14             Fall Room Change Request Period Ends

Wednesday, November 21
             Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 21 (5 pm)     Thanksgiving Recess 
     - Sunday, November 25              

Sunday, November 25                     Kline Commons reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Friday, November 30                       Last Day to Withdraw from a Class

Wednesday, December 5                  Advising Day

Monday, December 10                     Senior Projects due by 5:00 p.m.


Thursday, December 13                  Registration opens for Spring 2019 classes                    

Monday, December 17 -                  Completion Days
Friday, December 21

Friday, December 21                        Last Day of Classes
                                                      Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m. 
              

Saturday, December 22                    All students must vacate their residence halls by 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, December 22 (3 p.m.)      Student housing not available
     - Tuesday, January 1          


                                                       Intersession

Saturday, December 22 -                   Winter Intersession
    
Friday, January 25                       

Wednesday, January 2                      Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due

Wednesday, January 2                      Intersession housing begins

                                                       Citizen Science Program 2019

Saturday, January 5                           First-Year Students Return for Citizen Science Program

Sunday, January 6 -                            Citizen Science Program
     Wednesday, January 23

                                                           
                                                       Spring 2019

Tuesday, January 22                            New First-Year and Transfer Students Arrive
                                                              Check-in and Financial Clearance
                                                               (10:00 a.m.-12:00 noon, Reem Kayden Center)     

Tuesday, January 22 -                         Academic Orientation, Advising and Registration
      Friday, January 25                              for New First-Year and Transfer Students

Saturday, January 26                          Arrival Day for all Returning Students                                                        
                                                               Kline Commons opens at 4:30 p.m.               

Monday, January 28                            First Day of Classes
                                                         Drop/Add period begins

Wednesday, February 6                       Drop/Add period ends at 5:00 p.m.
                                                       
Monday, February 11                          Spring Room Change Request Period Begins

Wednesday, February 27                     Late drop period ends
                                                                Pass/D/Fail grading option deadline


Friday, March 15                                  Moderation Papers Due
                                                          Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 16 -                            Spring Recess
     Sunday, March 24                   

Sunday, March 24                                Kline Commons reopens at 4:30 p.m.

Monday, March 25                               Mid-Term Grades and Criteria Sheets due

Monday, April 8                                   
Spring Room Change Request Period Ends

TBA (Mid to Late April)                     Room Draw: Night One

TBA (Mid to Late April)                     Room Draw: Night Two
                                                       
Monday, April 29 -                               Advising Days
     Tuesday, April 30

Tuesday, April 30                                 Last Day to Withdraw from a Class

Wednesday, May 1                              Senior Projects due  (by 5:00 p.m.)

Thursday, May 9                                 Registration opens for Fall 2019 classes

Wednesday, May 15 -                           Completion Days
     Tuesday, May 21

Monday, May 20                                  Senior Grades due in the Office of the Registrar

Tuesday, May 21                                  Last Day of Classes
                                                         Kline Commons closes at 3:00 p.m.               

Wednesday, May 22                             All Non-Graduating Students must vacate their residence halls by 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 23                                Baccalaureate and Senior Dinner

Saturday, May 25                                 Commencement

Sunday, May 26                                    All remaining students must vacate their residence halls by 3:00 p.m.

Monday, June 3                                          Final Grades and Criteria Sheets due in the Office of the Registrar